The Fault In Our Stars – My Review

image

To be very frank with you, I was only able to write this moments after pulling myself together from crying after reading such a beautiful book and still as I sat there writing this I was still sobbing.

It is a beautiful book this one and I kid you not when I say it is a love story for the centuries albeit a sad one but still a love story and a beautiful one.

Just imagine not really wanting to live life after being diagnosed with stage IV thyroid cancer and you just barely got out because you were forced out by your overbearingly loving mother. And then you meet the best thing that has ever happened to you in a long time.

I kind of understand their love story; it was slow and true. It wasn’t forced or rushed because of the lack of time but they took the needed time to get to know each other and fall truly in love with one another.

Hazel Grace at first believed she was the grenade waiting to explode and hurt the ones that loved and cared for her not knowing that in true actual fact Augustus was the grenade. A series of twists and turns occur to reveal that Hazel would outlive Augustus and his (Augustus’) final days won’t be easy ones.

The sadness for me truly began at his prefuneral when Isaac gave his eulogy of Augustus and he pondered and expatiated on all of Augustus’ vanities and yet stating he wouldn’t want to see a world without Gus. Hazel’s eulogy also as expected was perfect and was portrayed in the most peculiar yet honest and intrinsic way stating at the end (this part really got me tearing up)

“But Gus my love, I cannot tell you how thankful I am for our little infinity. I wouldn’t trade it for the world. You gave me a forever within the numbered days, and I’m grateful”.

Such depth and sincerity. I never knew I could cry so much while reading a book. Watching a movie, yeah sure but reading a book, not really.

Augustus death was a sad one and I could not help but put myself in Hazel’s shoes and imagine how she felt. Such pain, sadness and loneliness. The one person you could call to talk about absolutely anything was gone at the time she needed someone to talk to the most. Even with all the pain I knew she wouldn’t have asked for anything else and she loved Augustus dearly even in death.

The Fault In Our Stars – John Green

5/5

The Fault In Our Stars – My Review

5 thoughts on “The Fault In Our Stars – My Review

  1. I haven’t read the book yet, although I have it.
    I saw the movie a couple of weeks ago though and you’re right,
    Isaac’s eulogy was perfect, one of my favourite parts of the movie.
    I just absolutely love the story, I felt everything. Its so beautiful…

  2. I loved loved loved this book. So much that I read the other John Green books.
    Augustus Waters death and Rue’s death (The Hunger Games) are the saddest book deaths for me. I’m not ashamed to say I cried.
    I like books that when I read them, I feel like one of the characters. That’s how I felt with this book.
    John Green writes the best stories with the best characters
    The movie was good. And they stuck to the script.

  3. omniphysics says:

    As a Real G building up reps in the streets, I’m not allowed to say I cried.
    The humor, The love story, The tragic end.Such blend in less than 200 pages.

    The book was really really really good. But I didn’t cry.

Leave a Reply

